Guild Pharmacy of the Year finalists named

Date: 30 November 2016

Six pharmacies from across Australia have been named as finalists in this years’ prestigious Guild Pharmacy of the Year Awards.

The awards are a highlight of the pharmacy calendar where pharmacies that are leading the way in providing innovative and optimal healthcare for members of their community are recognised and highlighted.

The awards recognise excellence in pharmacy across three categories:

  • Business Management
  • Community Engagement
  • Professional Services Innovation

The finalists this year came from a broad field of nominated pharmacies and have shown they are the leaders in their field. A different community pharmacy will be selected as the winner in each category, with the Guild Pharmacy of the Year for 2017 being selected from these three individual category winners.

The judging group tasked with selecting this year’s finalists said all six finalists had recognised the need for change and had embraced that need.

A spokesperson for the judging group, Nick Panayiaris, Pharmacy Guild of Australia National Councillor and President of the South Australian Branch of the Guild, said a feature of nominations in this year’s Pharmacy of the Year awards was the commitment to high-quality service delivery.

“All of the nominations had a strong focus on professional service delivery and many had backed this commitment by investing in refurbishments to offer a better experience for customers and outcomes for patients accessing these services,” Mr Panayiaris said.

“They have included private consultation areas and redesigns to bring the pharmacists closer to customers so that engagement is easier and more relaxed.

“They have all recognised the need for their pharmacies to be health hubs and have moved to achieve this objective.

“These pharmacies have made the often tough decision to invest heavily in their businesses at a time when the economic environment is tough.

“They have faith in the future of their profession and in their ability to be leaders in that future.”

Mr Panayiaris said another standout was the commitment to staff development to ensure customers had the most up-to-date treatments and information available to them.

“A consistent theme was the focus on staff welfare and staff development. All finalists highlighted the commitment to staff as a feature of their pharmacy operations and as an underlying foundation of their ability to provide the very best advice and services to customers and patients.

“The pharmacies also had a very deep engagement with their local communities. They all are more than a pharmacy – they are all community citizens playing an active and ongoing role in supporting their communities and being part of those communities.”

The six finalists are:

  • Lucy Walker Chemmart Goondiwindi, Queensland
  • Capital Chemist Southlands, Australian Capital Territory
  • Capital Chemist Wanniassa, Australian Capital Territory
  • Waikerie Chemplus, South Australia
  • Terry White Chemmart Hawthorn, Victoria
  • Beaufort St 24 hour Pharmacy, Perth, Western Australia

Was this page useful to you?

Do you want us to contact you?
To contact your local branch representative directly, please see the details on our contact page.
You can also help us improve the website by completing a short survey.
Page last updated 23 February 2017