outline of New South Wales

The NSW Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008 (clause 48A) has been amended (to commence on 1 January 2019) to authorise appropriately trained pharmacists in NSW to administer privately funded diphtheria-tetanus- pertussis (dTpa) and measles-mumps-rubella (MMR) vaccines to individuals aged 16 years and over. This is in addition to influenza vaccine.

The NSW Pharmacist Vaccination Standards (315Kb PDF) were updated on 23rd November 2018.

Authorised pharmacists are required to report all vaccinations to the Australian Immunisation Register (AIR). More information about the AIR is available on the Department of Human Services website.

More information on pharmacist initiation and administration of vaccines is available from the NSW Health website.

NSW Guild Training provides an Australian Pharmacy Council (APC) approved training course, Pharmacy Guild Immunisation Course. This course is accredited for 34 Group 2 CPD credits and is a blended format of online pre-learning modules followed by a one day face-to-face practical training day.

Was this page useful to you?

Page last updated 08 October 2019