Vaccination Guidelines and Resources

The NSW Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008 (clause 48A) authorises appropriately trained pharmacists in NSW to administer privately funded influenza vaccine, diphtheria-tetanus-pertussis (dTpa) and measles-mumps-rubella (MMR) vaccine to selected patients.

In 2021, this Regulation was updated to include COVID-19 vaccines as approved by the Secretary. The COVID-19 vaccines approved by the Secretary are the Vaxzevria (ChAdOx1-S) COVID-19 vaccine (‘AstraZeneca vaccine’), Comirnaty (BNT162b2 [mRNA]) COVID-19 vaccine (‘Pfizer vaccine’) and  Spikevax (elasomeran) COVID-19 vaccine (‘Moderna vaccine’).

Further information is available on the NSW Pharmacist Vaccination Program webpage.


The pharmacist must vaccinate and provide management of an adverse event within the scope of pharmacist practice, professional knowledge and expertise.

The pharmacist must ensure that when administering vaccines, an appropriately trained pharmacy staff member is present.

The pharmacist must check an individual’s vaccination status on the Australian Immunisation Register (AIR) prior to administering a vaccine and subsequently record any vaccines they administer.

All vaccines administered must be recorded with the required information and a copy of this record must be kept at the pharmacy for 7 years. The pharmacist must also record the details of the vaccine administered in the Australian Immunisation Register (AIR).


Guild Member pharmacies are able to access available resources and templates to deliver professional vaccination services in their community pharmacy. Please log onto your MyGuild account to access these resources.

For further information or to speak to Guild Clinical:
Phone: 02 9467 7180

The Pharmacy Guild of Australia NSW Branch
Suite 201, 10 Norbrik Drive, Bella Vista NSW 2153
Tel: 02 9467 7100   |
ABN 87 740 877 429   |   RTO 0452

Was this page useful to you?

Page last updated on: 06 March 2023